** News **


MTC Background Information


UNI Faculty with Transportation Interests


Transportation Scholars Program








Special Thanks


Welcome to the Midwest Transportation Consortium

Northern Iowa Division

 Click here for information on the new Midwest Transportation Consortium grant, which will fund research and education in transportation safety at UNI, Iowa State, and the University of Iowa   

The University of Northern Iowa will have several research assistantships and tuition scholarships available to incoming Masters students interested in transportation safety, starting in Fall 2007.  These assistantships are made possible through UNI's participation in the Midwest Transportation Consortium, funded by the University Transportation Center program of the U.S. DOT.   Within the area of transportation safety, projects will emphasize the use of GIS, spatial analysis, public policy, and transportation planning to identify and address transportation safety issues.  For more information on the transportation program at UNI, please contact Tim Strauss (tim.strauss@uni.edu; 319-273-7467).  For application materials and information on the UNI Department of Geography graduate program, please contact Graduate Coordinator David May (dave.may@uni.edu) or visit http://www.uni.edu/geography/graduate_program.html.


The Midwest Transportation Consortium (MTC) is the University Transportation Center Program for Federal Region 7, which includes Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska.

Iowa State University (ISU) is MTC's lead institution. At ISU, MTC is being managed through the Center for Transportation Research and Education (CTRE).

ISU is partnering with the University of Missouri-Columbia through UMC’s Transportation Infrastructure Center (TIC).

Four junior partner institutions are programmatically linked to MTC, largely to support transportation education activities through the Transportation Scholars Program:

·         University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls, Iowa

·         University of Missouri-Kansas City

·         University of Missouri-St. Louis

·         Lincoln University in Jefferson, Missouri





Department of Geography, University of Northern Iowa, Sabin Hall 1, Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0406.
Tel: (319) 273-2772; Fax: (319) 273-7103